The School social
Oscars Prize, Nobel Prize, National Awards, Bharat Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dada Saheb Phalke Awards, Ashok Chakra, Jnanpith Award

What are the different National Awards of our country?

Awards, prizes, and accolades are crucial in motivating people in society to succeed in all spheres of life. Every government and other organisation in the world has established awards to recognise those who have contributed significantly and of the highest calibre to society via their work.




Awards are given to people who show extraordinary performance in their respective field. We are well aware of the Oscars and the Nobel Prize that are awarded every year. But there are some National Awards that are given out in our country. They are as prestigious as any other international awards. These awards are: Bharat Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dada Saheb Phalke Awards, Ashok Chakra and the Jnanpith Award. Let us tell you in what fields these awards are given out…

  • Bharat Ratna Award
    It is the highest rank of award given out to the civilians of the Republic of India. It was instituted on 2nd January 1954. Without any distinction in race, caste, religion or gender, this award is given on the basis of performance. In 2019, the exceptional playback singer Bhupen Hazarika won the prize posthumously. 

  • Arjuna Award
    It is the award given out by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India. This award is given to those enthusiastic sportspersons who make outstanding achievements. This award was initiated in 1961. It comes with a monetary prize of rupees 5 lakhs and a bronze statue of Arjuna. In 2019, Ravinder Jadeja received the Arjuna Award for his outstanding performance in Cricket.

  • Dada Saheb Phalke Award
    It is the highest rank of award given out in the field of cinema. It is awarded in the National Film Awards Ceremony every year. The Directorate of Film Festival, set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting presents this award. In 2019, Amitava Bachchan received this prestigious award. 

  • Ashok Chakra
    It is the highest peacetime Military decoration award. It is given to the people who show outstanding bravery, valour and tasks of self-sacrifice in the battlefield. It is equivalent to the Param Vir Chakra Award. In 2019, Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani received this award for sacrificing his life, fighting the terrorists Shophian in Kashmir.

  • Jnanpith Award
    It is the highest rank of award given out in the literary field. This award is presented on the basis of outstanding contribution in the field of Literature by the Bharatiya Jnanpith. This award was established in 1961. In 2019, the most notable poet of Malayali literature, poet Akkhitam bagged this award. 

What other prestigious awards are you preparing yourself for?


The longest place name is 85 letters long. It is Taumatawhakatangihangaoauauotameteat.




[ 'Logo'- words + 'Phile' - enthusiastic for ]- a word nerd / a lover of words